The Kansas Teachers’ Hall of Fame in Dodge City inducted two PSU alumnae last summer. The 2012 honorees included Vicki Lynn O’Neal of Baxter Springs, Kan.; and Brilla Highfill Scott of Lawrence.

O’Neal (MS ’80) has taught second grade at Baxter Springs for 40 years. She has received numerous awards, including PSU’s Clyde U. Phillips Outstanding Educator Award and was a Kansas Teacher of the Year finalist.

Scott (MS ’71) was a teacher at Winfield High School from 1959 through 1966 and at Lawrence High School from 1966 through 1976. From 1976 through 1985, Scott was the principal at West Junior High in Lawrence. She served as the executive director of the United School Administrators in Topeka from 1985 through 2003.