The College of Education honored three teachers and an elementary school principal for service and teaching excellence at the annual Clyde U. Phillips Awards ceremony in April. At the ceremony, the college also awarded more than $150,000 in student scholarships.
Ann Lee, the principal at Westside Elementary School in Pittsburg, and Richard Holroyd, a teacher at Labette County High School, were the recipients of the Clyde U. Phillips Award for Distinguished Service.
Lee has earned three degrees from Pitt State. She began her career as a fifth grade teacher in Joplin before serving as an elementary school counselor in the district. She came to Pittsburg Community Schools (USD 250) in 2005, where she worked as an elementary school counselor until 2009, when she was named assistant principal at Pittsburg Middle School. In 2011, the district named Lee to her current position as principal of Westside Elementary.
Holroyd began his teaching career as an industrial arts teacher at Horton (Kan.) High School in 1973. There, he established new programs in materials and processes and the world of construction and also taught woodworking and drafting. In 1976, Holroyd accepted an offer to teach at Labette County High School, where he teaches today.
The Clyde U. Phillips Outstanding Educator Awards went to Keā€™olani Addis, a third grade teacher at Carl Junction, Mo., and Salvador Prado, a junior and senior high school band teacher at Jasper R-V schools.