Receiving the honor was delayed by weather, but that didn’t dampen the enthusiasm for the 2015 Clyde U. Phillips Award recipients. Bad weather in April forced the cancellation of the awards ceremony, so the recipients were recognized in May at the student teacher recognition.
“We are immensely proud of these educators and we wanted to find a way to recognize their achievements,” said Dean Howard Smith.
This year’s recipients were: Deborah L. “Debbie” Restivo, Distinguished Service – Teacher; Leigh Anne Neal, Distinguished Service – Administrator; Angelina Espinoza, Outstanding Educator – Elementary; and Jordan White, Outstanding Educator – Secondary.,
Restivo has been a teacher at Frank Layden Elementary School in Frontenac since 1993. Neal is the associate superintendent for communications for the Shawnee Mission (Kan.) School District; Espinoza has taught kindergarten at Frank Layden Elementary School in Frontenac for the past five years; and White has taught at Seneca R-7 for three years, where he is assistant director of bands.
The Clyde U. Phillips awards were established in memory of Clyde U. Phillips, a graduate of Pittsburg State University and a well-known Kansas educator.