Class of 1970
Barbara Belles (BSE) retired from USD #413 after 22 years. She taught for a total of 37 years.

Class of 1974
Samuel J Marsh (BA) was publicly sworn into his seat as district magistrate judge in Columbus, Kan. Marsh received his Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Kansas School of Law in 1990 and worked for the law firm of Wheeler and Mitchelson in Pittsburg from 1990-1995. He was assistant county attorney in Cherokee County from 1995-1997 and served as county attorney from 1997-2001. He and his wife, Janice, have two children.

Class of 1976
Amy Bass (BS) retired from The Empire District Electric Company after 34 years of service. She has served on communications committees for the Missouri Energy Development Association, Missouri Energy Warning Council, and the Southwest Power Pool. She currently serves on the board of directors at the Independent Living Center.

Kent Frazell (BSE) (MSE, 1990) has retired from USD # 413 (Chanute, Kan.), where he has taught physical education and health for 39 years.

Class of 1977
Sharon Boyer (MSE) was chosen as the USD 446 (Scott County) Teacher of the Month for May.

Class of 1979
Sandy Roecker (BSE) has retired from USD #413 after 32 years. She has taught for a total of 36 years.

Class of 1982
Jacqueline Vietti (MS) has been appointed as interim president at Emporia State University effective June 1, 2015. Vietti has worked in public higher education for over 35 years, providing direction and leadership for community colleges and higher education systems in Kansas and Missouri and the 19-state region of the Higher Learning Commission. For over 17 years, she served as president of Butler Community College, the second largest public community college in the state, retiring in 2012.

Russell Vallier (BME) has retired after 29 years in Chanute’s school district. He has been in education for a total of 31 years, teaching vocal and instrumental music.

Class of 1987
Mark E. Toutilliott (BS) has retired after 23 years at USD 234, Fort Scott.

Class of 1991
Marty Bicknell (BA) was named one of the Kansas City Business Journal’s “Power 100” in April. Bicknell is CEO of Mariner Holdings, a global financial services firm based in Leawood, Kansas. The journal noted Bicknell’s community service, including his support for the Catholic Foundation of Northeast Kansas, the American Royal, the University of Kansas Medical Center and Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. He is also a member of the Young Presidents Organization and on the board for the Civic Council of Greater Kansas City.

Class of 1994
Susan Beeson (BS) (MS 2006) has been named superintendent-principal of USD 397 (Centre) in Lost Springs, Kan. Beeson served as superintendent of schools for USD 505 (Chetopa-St. Paul) from 2012-2015. Prior to that, she worked 11 years as a school social worker and elementary counselor at Labette County USD 506 and the Garden City public schools. In addition to her bachelor’s degree in social work from PSU, Beeson holds a master’s degree in social work from the University of Kansas and a master’s degree in educational leadership from PSU.

Class of 1996
Dustin Storm (BS) has been named superintendent for the Miller (Mo.) School District. For the previous six years, he served the district as principal of Carterville Elementary School. A former member of the Gorilla baseball team, Storm taught in Wichita, Kan.; Webb City, Mo.; and Carthage, Mo., before coming to the Miller School District.

Class of 1997
Jeff Jones (BS) (ME 2010) is the new superintendent/principal for USD #106 (Western Plains) in Ransom, Kan.

Class of 1999
Mark Shead (MM) owns a small company that helps businesses create efficient custom software. He’s been working with teams at the U.S. Treasury and Federal Reserve Banks and helping them make their software development processes more efficient and reliable.

Tonya D. Bell (BA) (MA 2004) has been named a distinguished faculty award recipient at Labette Community College. Bell’s most recent accomplishments in the teaching area include chairing a committee to develop outcomes/competencies for Interpersonal Communication. She has also developed a partnership with the Parsons Chamber of Commerce to offer communication majors the opportunity to intern in the field of Public Relations.

Class of 2006
Matt Wonser (BS) was chosen as the UDS 446 (Scott County) Teacher of the Month for March. He teaches 7th grade science at Independence Middle School.

Andy Majors (BS, MS 2010) has been named the director of player development for the University of Kansas women’s basketball team. Prior to joining the KU program, Majors spent five years at Stephen F. Austin University.

Class of 2007
DeAnna Holeman (BS), MSW, LCSW, BHC, has joined the Dallas County Family Medical Center in Buffalo, Mo., which is associated with Citizens Memorial Hospital. At DCFMC, she works as a substance abuse counselor with board certified family medicine physician Kurt Bravata, M.D., in the DCFMC Addiction Recovery Program.

Class of 2008
Gale Brown (MS, Ed.S. 2012) received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Labette Community College. Brown has been the director of the Radiography Program director at LCC since 2012. Brown and her husband, Brad, have a daughter, Stephanie.

Class of 2010
Adam Dorsey (BS) has been named the head coach for the girls’ basketball team at Arkansas City High School. Adam and his wife, Melissa, a teacher at Adams Elementary School, have a son, Henry.

Class of 2011
Sherié Greenough (BS) has been named recreation coordinator for the Parsons Recreation Commission.

Class of 2012
Erica Kern (BBA) was newly hired as the new interim city administrator on a six-month trial period. Most recently, she worked for the city of Pleasanton as the deputy service clerk since November 2014.

Phased retirement and retirees

Judy Berry-Bravo, University  Professor/Chairperson, Modern Languages & Literature
Dennis Bounds, University Police Officer, University Police & Parking Services
Irene Cavitte, Custodial and General Services
Edward Collins, Custodial Supervisor, Custodial and General Services
Olive Collins, Custodial Supervisor, Custodial and General Services
Cynthia Endicott, Custodial Supervisor, Custodial and General Services
Wanda Endicott, Director, Custodial and General Services
Jana Giles, Custodial Supervisor, Custodial and General Services
David Gordon, Associate Professor, Biology
Steve Hall, Facilities Specialist, Building Trades & Landscape Maintenance
Rita Hardesty, Administrative Specialist, School of Construction
Kurt Kasjaka, Equipment Mechanic Specialist, Custodial and
General Services Robert “Brent” Linder, Instructor, Technology and Workforce Learning
D. Ann Meats, Instructor, English
Anna Meyer, Custodial Supervisor, Custodial and General Services
Georgan Peterson, Custodial Specialist, Housing Maintenance
Zoran Petrovic, Senior Research Adviser, Kansas Polymer Research Center
Diana Polston, Administrative Specialist, Campus Recreation
Kathy Sanley, Team Coordinator, Information Services
Kathleen Spillman, Associate Professor, Teaching and Leadership
James Sours, Professor, Graphics & Imagining Technologies
Jo “Sue” Stidham, Associate Professor, Teaching and Leadership
Cynthia Triplett, Small Business Coordinator, Center for Innovation and Business Development
Larry Weaver, Applications Developer III, Information Services