Class of 1939

Ed Brewer (BS, business) was interviewed by the Winfield (Kan.) Courier, for a special Veterans Day supplement published Friday Nov 7, 2014. At 99 years old, Ed is one of the few remaining veterans from World War II. The article detailed his war-time experiences in the Coast Guard as well as his time as a student at Pittsburg State 1935-1939 and as a professor 1945-1949.

Class of 1965

Jim Feagins (BSE) was honored by the Missouri Archaeological Society (MAS) with the Hamilton Distinguished Service Award. This is the highest award the society gives to professional archaeologists. Feagins, who also earned an MS from the University of Oklahoma, had two careers – teaching science for 30 years, then retiring to become an archaeologist. He is a prolific author for various journals, newsletters, and quarterlies and has delivered 47 professional papers, plus countless archaeological talks to various groups. During the course of his archaeological career, Feagins has identified two prehistoric cultures and recorded more than 900 prehistoric and historic sites. He is a president emeritus for the MAS and continues to serve on the board of trustees.

Class of 1973

Maureen Murphy (BA) was named the 2014 North Carolina Family Physician of the Year in December by the North Carolina Academy of Family Physicians. She was singled out for “a lifelong commitment to delivering both comprehensive and coordinated care to patients, helping to advance the specialty of family medicine, and tirelessly serving North Carolina’s communities.”
Murphy began her career in communications, working as a television reporter and public relations writer. She joined the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine as their membership and public relations director in 1977 and it was in this role where Murphy would discover her true life’s calling: family medicine. Murphy earned her medical degree from the University of Kansas Medical Center. After graduation, she went on to complete her residency training in family medicine at Duke University in 1988.
Murphy has served North Carolina communities ranging from the medically underserved in rural Sparta, N.C., to busy suburban communities. Murphy cares for patients and continues to help educate family medicine residents and medical students at Cabarrus Family Medicine in Concord, N.C., where she serves as faculty coordinator of student programs. She resides in Concord with her husband, Scott Maxwell.

Class of 1975

Andy Gilner (BSEd) is in his 37th year teaching at Tonganoxie High School where he teaches social studies, American Government and psychology. He is a Tonganoxie City Council member, as well as district marshal of the fourth degree for the Knights of Columbus, a fraternal order in the Catholic Church.

Class of 1978

Scott Greeno (BGS) has been hired as a corrections officer 1 in the Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office in Topeka. In his new position, he will maintain security in the jail.

Class of 1986

Todd Dulek (BSBA) has been named executive director of Altrus in Savannah, Ga. Altrus provides group and family model personal care homes throughout Georgia.
In this capacity, Dulek will be responsible for all Altrus operations, including services for both family and group model segments as well as the services to the developmentally disabled population through the DD Host Home program.
Previously, Dulek was in regional home care management for ResCare for more nine years in the north Atlanta/North Georgia markets. Prior to this he worked at Federated Mutual Insurance for 14 years in various roles and finally as marketing administrative manager at the end of his tenure.

Class of 1990

Toby Cook (BA) is the vice president of community affairs and publicity for the Kansas City Royals. Cook is responsible for organizing the ball clubs’ charitable endeavors and also for promoting the team’s appearance at special events. He is also responsible for spreading the word about the Royals’ playoff appearances, ticket sales, and other events. Prior to joining the Royals, he spent 15 years as a news anchor and reporter at four television stations including KOAM-TV.

Class of 1994

Clayton Tatro (BS) has been named the new assistant dean of instruction at Washburn Tech. in Topeka. Tatro most recently served as president of Fort Scott Community College. Before that, he was dean of instruction at Garden City Community College, where he also began his teaching career.

Class of 1995

Roger Wen (BBA ’95, MS ’96) has been named director of the online campus at California State University – East Bay. Previously, he served as the dean of the online campus at William Woods University in Missouri. Wen has his Ph.D. in technology teaching from the University of Missouri and has a long career in multi-media administration, teaching and research.

Class of 1996

Valorie LeBlanc (BS) has been promoted to magistrate judge. She interviewed for the position Aug. 22, 2014, and was notified the same day that she was chosen. She has been a member of the Bourbon County Bar Association and the Sixth Judicial District Community Corrections Advisory Board since 2002. As a member of the board, she has assisted with giving advice and overseeing the operations for the adult and juvenile supervision and prevention services for the Sixth Judicial District.

Class of 1998

Kathi Yokum (BSN) has joined Dr. Robert Thomen’s Family Medicine Practice at the Chanute Clinic. She has also completed her master of science degree in nursing in 2014. She has served 18 years in health care in Neosho County. Yokum has fulfilled positions of CAN, phlebotomist, RN in emergency care and OB, and house supervisor with the Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center.
Kim Davis (BSN) has joined the staff at the Cotton-O’Neil Clinic in Carbondale, Kan. She completed a master’s degree in nursing in 2000.

Class of 1999

Noll Saunders (BBA) has been named risk management consultant for Euler Hermes North America. In his new role, Saunders covers Texas and surrounding states. He is a 2014 graduate of Baylor University’s executive MBA program and also serves on the Dallas Business Club’s board of directors.

Class of 2003

Bill Martin (BS) is the current sheriff of Bourbon County, Kan. He currently belongs to the Kansas Sheriff’s Association.

Class of 2004

Carla A. Berger (BS) has been promoted to major for the U.S. Army in Pirmasens, Germany. Maj. Berger’s awards include the Bronze Star Medal, the Army Commendation Medal (60LC), the Army Achievement Medal (10LC), the Meritorious Unit Commendation Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Iraqi Campaign Medal, the Overseas Service Ribbon, the Army Service Ribbon, and the German Armed Forces Military Proficiency Badge (Silver). Her mother, sister, and niece attended the promotion ceremony in Germany.

Class of 2005

Kenny Felt (BA) was recently chosen as one of The Knot magazine’s Best Wedding Photographers for 2015. His work has been published multiple times in publications such as Sports Illustrated, ESPN magazine, Guideposts, as well as other newspapers around the world. He is in his ninth year as a portrait photographer. Prior to starting his business, he was a photographer and staff writer at The Fort Scott Tribune from 2001-05 and continues as a freelancer. He also worked as a freelance journalist for Icon Sports Media. He worked at Captured Images photography studio from 2005 to 2011. Felt currently serves on the board for the Keyhole youth center.