Class of 1959

Clara Reida (BSE) is the subject of a recent book, “Because We Wanted To: Two Women, A Dream, and a Ranch Called Singing Acres,” written by award-winning author Carol Ann Wilson. The story chronicles Reida’s adventures with Margaret Locarnini, whom she met at a Girl Scout Camp and who, like her, dreamed of raising horses in the Colorado Rockies. They overcame adversity to open a ranch.

Class of 1964

Robert Fleming (BSBA), judge of the Kansas 11th Judicial District, retired after a 21-year career on the bench. Fleming was appointed to the district court in 1996 by Gov. Bill Graves.

Class of 1967

A.J. Wachter (BSE), chief judge of the 11th Judicial District of Kansas, retired on Dec. 18 after a successful legal career. He was in private practice from 1969 until he was named to the bench in 2002. He was also inducted into Pittsburg State’s Athletic Hall of Fame in 2017.

Class of 1968

Tim Cagle (BA) had two books published in 2017: “Whispers from the Silence” and “Unexpected Enemy.”

Class of 1971

Lee Scott (BSBA), the former president, CEO and chairman of the executive committee of the board of directors for Walmart Stores, Inc., was selected for membership in the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc. The nonprofit education organization honors the achievements of outstanding individuals and encourages youth to pursue their dreams through education.

Class of 1973

Dennis Franchione (BSE), was recognized for his successful coaching career, which included stops at Kansas State, Southwestern and Tennessee Tech, Texas Christian University, Alabama, Texas A&M and, of course, PSU, with induction into the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame on Oct. 1.

Class of 1974

Gary Green (BME) organized a gathering of music alumni, faculty, and staff for Homecoming Weekend. The group met for a reception in McCray Lobby and then moved to the stage of the Sharon Kay Dean Recital Hall for a group photo. They hope to do so again in the future.

Class of 1975

Kirby Brown (BST, MS ’77) was awarded Presidential Rank by the Department of the Army’s Civilian Senior Leader Management Office — one of only 36 senior executives within the federal government to receive the prestigious award. He works at the U.S. Army Combined Arms Center at Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas, as the Commanding General’s principle advisor and the senior expert in force management, joint capabilities integration and development, requirements determination, and material acquisition.

Class of 1983

Diana Phillips Cavin (BSE) was honored in 2017 for teaching 30 years at USD 234 in Fort Scott, Kansas. She taught third and fourth grade in Missouri, before returning to Fort Scott to teach fifth grade. She retired in May 2017 after 34 years in education.

Class of 1984

Ruth Duling (BBA) was named the CEO of the growing Girard Medical Center in Girard, Kansas.

Class of 1987

Johnathon Johnson (BS), president, CEO, and bank director for Home Savings Bank in Chanute, Kansas has been named to the Kansas Bankers Association Board of Directors as a Regional Representative.

Class of 1989

Shelly Kiblinger (BSE) was named superintendent of the Cherryvale, USD 447 school district. Kiblinger’s teaching career includes stops in Fredonia and Garden City, Kansas.

Steven Westfall, (BBA, MBA ’90), has been named President of EFCO Corporation, which provides innovative customer solutions to satisfy commercial design challenges.

Class of 1990

Becky Brannock (EDS), a faculty member and director of PSU’s School Counseling Program, was inducted into the Kansas School Counseling Hall of Fame. She has nearly 40 years of experience as an educator.

Mark Cole (MA), inspired by visits to national parks, had one of his works of art selected for the 2017 National Art Education Association Member Exhibition — one of just 65 out of 422 works from around the world. He is an art teacher at Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School in Joplin, Mo.

Julie Swearingen Schaller (BS) was named one of 25 “Women Who Mean Business in KC.” PSU was the only school mentioned at the awards ceremony. Schaller found her vocation by working as a student for Col. A.T. Flagg in the HR department at PSU.

Class of 1991

Stephanie Heman (BSE) was named the new assistant principal at Monett High School in Monett, Missouri. Her career includes stops at Aurora High School and Webb City High School.

Class of 1992

Susan Mynatt Harrison (BA) recently co-authored the book “Difficult Conversations Just for Women, Kill the Anxiety, Get What You Want.” She’s currently working on a series of short books about stress and communication.

Class of 1993

Tammy Merrett (BA) was recognized by the College Media Association with its Distinguished Adviser Award. Merrett is currently the media adviser at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Class of 2002

Matt Spurlock (BST) accepted a position as Director of Technology with Foulston Siefkin LLP of Wichita, Kansas. Foulston Siefkin LLP is the largest law firm in Kansas.

Class of 2011

Barb Roberts (MS), a former PSU employment coordinator and career counselor, was named the 2017 Administrative Faculty Member of the Year at the University of Las Vegas.

Sarah Runyon (BST) was named the Chief Information Officer for the City of Pittsburg, Kan. Runyon is the first person to hold the position for the city.

Class of 2012

Jessica Booth (BSE, MS 2013), a Basehor-Linwood High School mathematics teacher, was named the 2017 Outstanding Secondary Mathematics Teacher in Kansas.

Class of 2013

Ashley Wilbert (BBA) has been promoted to Senior Associate at Stinnett & Associates, a professional advisory firm in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Ernesto Estigarribia (BME) has been named the new conductor of the Southeastern Minnesota Youth Orchestra in Rochester, Minnesota.

Class of 2015

Cori Austin Bohnenblust (BS) went on to earn her Masters at the University of Northern Iowa and is a Team Representative/School Psychologist at Central Rivers Area Education Agency in Cedar Falls, Iowa. She lives in Waterloo, Iowa with her husband Brad Bohnenblust (BST 2014).

Krista Gosch (BSE) was chosen as the Webb City Cardinal Teacher Award winner for Webb City Middle School in 2017.

Jenna Spencer (BA) has become active in the Pittsburg art scene as a muralist and is a charter member of Art Forms Gallery in Pittsburg. Her